Book Review: A Happier Life by Kristy Woodson Harvey

I didn’t think it was possible for Kristy Woodson Harvey to write a book I loved more than The Summer of Songbirds, but she at least matched it with this one! A Happier Life is yet another perfect summer read from Harvey with characters I can’t stop thinking about long after I’ve finished the book.

Set in the picturesque seaside town of Beaufort, North Carolina, this captivating novel intertwines past and present, offering readers a delightful escape into a world of southern charm, family mysteries, and summer romance.

More beach reads set in real places you can visit!

At the heart of the story is Keaton Smith, a young woman seeking a fresh start as she takes on the task of selling her grandparents’ long-abandoned home. As she delves into the house’s history, readers are treated to a dual timeline narrative that seamlessly blends Keaton’s modern-day adventures with the intriguing story of her grandmother, Rebecca “Becks” Saint James, in the summer of 1976.

Harvey brings the coastal setting to life, making you feel the warm southern breeze and taste the salt in the air. I always say I want the books I write to take you on a mental vacation, and the descriptions of Beaufort’s historic houses and the vibrant local community here will transport you to this quaint seaside getaway. It’s the kind of story that will make you want to linger on the beach just a little longer, eager to turn the next page.

With a cast of endearing characters, including a charming neighbor, his precocious son, and a flock of lovable town busybodies, this novel offers the ideal mix of mystery, romance, and small-town warmth. As Keaton unravels family secrets and navigates her own journey of self-discovery, readers will find themselves fully invested in her story.

Perfect for fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Elin Hilderbrand, this novel is a must-have for your summer reading list. It’s a heartwarming tale that will leave you feeling nostalgic for lazy summer days and the enduring magic of family legacies. Pack this book alongside your sunscreen and beach towel for the ultimate summer escape!

Grab A Happier Life now

XOXO
signature

This page may contain affiliate links. If you choose to purchase after clicking a link, I may receive a commission at no extra cost to you as an Amazon Associate or member of another program.

Tags